History Of Deloose

The Deloo (Delo) live in central Ghana in the Rain forests and the Transitional Zone of West Africa, approximately 300 kilometres away from the coast. The Deloo are a major ethnic group of the four indigenous tribes (Deloo, Akyode, Adele and Challa) in the Nkwanta South Municipality in the Oti Region of Ghana, which was previously called the Gold Coast. The Deloo Traditional Area is located in a group of towns in the Southeast corner of Nkwanta South Municipality, Oti Region, East and Northeast of Dambai, the Regional capital. The Deloo tribe reaches into towns like Digiŋgiŋ, Amedzro and Tumurumu in Togo.

DELOO (NORTHERN NTRUBU) Traditional Area is one of the two states of what is commonly called NTRUBO. Deloo Traditional Area historically, is one of the two states of the Deloo tribe called by non-Deloo people as NTRUBO. Also, others refer to the tribe as NTRUBU or NTRIBU. The chief town of Deloo tribe is Bontibor. The area covers about two-hundred square kilometers.

Formerly, the two states were called NORTHERN NTRUBU and SOUTHERN NTRUBU. However, in 1941 while the designation NORTHERN NTRUBU state was maintained, that of SOUTHERN NTRUBU was redesignated as NTRUBU state.

The tribe is called Deloo (Delo), their Language is also Deloo and the people are called Deloose (Delose). For emphasis, the tribe is commonly referred to by non-Deloose as Ntrubo.

Deloo Traditional Area hitherto called NORTHERN NTRUBU Traditional Area is redesignated as Deloo Traditional Area to reflect the true and proper designation of Deloose.

Deloo Traditional Area comprises the following Divisions:

  1. BONTIBOR – Seat of Paramountcy;
  2. BONTIBOR – Kontire Division;
  3. PUSUPU – Nifa Division;
  4. AKYEM – Benkum Division;
  5. SALIFUKROM – Adonten Division;
  6. AHUNDWO – Kyidom Division;
  7. OBANDA – Sanaa Division;
  8. BAKAMBA – Guantua Division;
  9. BONTIBOR-GBƐƐNƆƆ (JUNCTION) – Ankobea Division
  10. ASUMENSA –
  12. KETATUŊ –
  13. NAMARAKA –
  14. KONTAME –
  15. OKOLODƐƐ –
  16. LABOANO –
  17. KPENKPE –
  18. OBANDA –
  19. KPENA –
  20. KEFLUBUN, and all settlements, and lands under the principal towns of Deloo.

7 thoughts on “History Of Deloose”

  1. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to generate a good article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never seem to get anything done.

  2. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  3. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now ;

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top